Donald W. Littrell New Professional Award

Presented to a CDS member in recognition of a superior contribution to the field of community development and the Society. This person should exemplify the Principles of Good Practice as adopted by the Society. Self-nominations are not accepted.


  • Must be a current and active member of CDS
  • Must have been a member of CDS for at least three years, and participated in at least one annual conference
  • Must have worked fewer than 10 years in the field of community development
  • Active participation in the Community Development Society
  • Evidence of creativity and vision in the practice of community development and in contributions to the Society

Past Recipients:

  • 2019 Anne Cafer
  • 2016 Neil Linscheid
  • 2015 Cindy Banyai
  • 2014 Kurt Mantonya
  • 2013 Whitney McIntyre Miller
  • 2012 James Wilcox
  • 2011 Paul Lachapelle
  • 2010 Katie Ellis
  • 2008 Michelle Norris
  • 2002 Brent Hales
  • 2001 Judith Bush
  • 1998 Margaret D. Griffith
  • 1992 Susan Maher